About me

As a freelance film composer since the mid-90's, I've produced diverse original scores for cinema, television and corporate videos. Starting with short films for the dffb and the HFF Konrad Wolf in Berlin, the first feature film, "Paul is dead" (2000) won numerous prizes, including the Grimme Prize. Seven other Grimme nominations followed over the years for TV features and the famous crime series "Tatort". With "Alaska Johansson" (2014) there was also a nomination for the Rolf-Hans-Müller Prize for Film Music, 2021 got the score "Die Ferien des Monsieur Murot" on the short list of the same award.

From 1994 I was resident DJ in the Berlin Plantation Club, a predecessor of today's beach bars and a wild venue for cross-genre dance music. The first engagement as a wedding DJ was for friends of the bosses. In 1998 the club burns down, the weddings remain.

The hardly listening soundsystem has been playing underwater music on a regular basis in Berlin's Liquidrom since 2008 - well-groomed background music with an extensive repertoire is one of my favorite skills.

I've also played in different bands and numerous music projects, including This Big Herbert, Ornament & Verbrechen and Triplum. Denzel + huhn (est. 1999) has become my electronic home base after all these years.

bertram-denzel

[bandcamp width="300" height="300" album="3194573656" size="large" bgcol="ffffff" linkcol="0687f5" minimal="true"]

Denzel + Huhn: Brom

Brom is now the 4th album by Denzel + Huhn, released in 2015 on Oktaf / Kontakt. It contains 14 tracks with various guest musicians such as Ronald Lippok, Manuel Miethe, Florian Junker, Bettina Bruns, Sascha Friedl, Brad Hwang, Ralf Bokelberg, Sebastian Vogel, Thomas Kürstner and Naftali.

News

Liquidrom

The hardly listening soundsystem spins underwater listening pearls for your inner health, finest Ambient and Chill Housenext shows: Saturday, June 29th from 2 to 6…

read more

25 Years Axica

In collaboration with the agency die Wellenmaschine I was composing the music for a short trailer an an image-film 25 minutes both directed by Claudius…

read more

Zu Tisch (Diner between Alsace and Palatinate)

New episode on Arte TV (Director: Alix F. Meier).

read more

Tatort: Murot und das 1000-jährige Reich (Murot and the 1000-year-empire)

New music together with Simon Rummel for a new episode of Germanys famous crime series “Tatort” under the direction of Matthias X. Oberg. Recorded by…

read more

Not a Single Day Premiere

The documentary by Kai-Uwe Schulte-Bunert with my music is to be seen in Munich on January 21st, 7 pm. Galerie Filser & Gräf, Galeriestr. 6,…

read more

Über mich

Seit Mitte der 90er Jahre komponiere und produziere ich Musik für Kino-, Fernseh- und Imagefilme. Angefangen mit Kurzfilmen für die dffb und die HFF Konrad Wolf, gewinnt gleich der erste Langfilm, "Paul is dead" (Regie: Hendrik Handloegten, X-Filme 2000), zahlreiche Preise, darunter den Grimme-Preis. 7 weitere Grimme-Nominierungen folgen im Laufe der Jahre für Fernsehfilme und einige Tatorte. Mit "Alaska Johansson" (2014) gibt es eine Nominierung für den Rolf-Hans-Müller Preis für Filmmusik.

Ab 1994 war ich Resident-DJ im Berliner Plantation-Club, einem Vorgänger heutiger Strandbars und wilde Spielstätte genreübergreifender Tanzmusik. Das erste Engagement als Hochzeits-DJ war für Bekannte der Betreiber. 1998 brennt der Club ab, die Hochzeiten bleiben. Verschiedenen Crowds einen unvergesslichen Tanzabend zu bescheren, treibt mich immer wieder aufs Neue an.

Seit 2008 legt das hardly listening soundsystem regelmäßig Unterwassermusik im Berliner Liquidrom auf – gepflegte Hintergrundbeschallung mit weitreichendem Repertoire ist eines meiner Steckenpferde, nicht nur unter Wasser.

Ich habe außerdem in verschiedenen Bands und zahlreichen Musikprojekten mitgewirkt, unter anderen bei This Big Herbert, Ornament & Verbrechen und Triplum. Nach unterschiedlichen Ausprägungen und Stilvarianten ist denzel + huhn (gegr. 1999) mein elektronisches Zuhause geworden.

bertram-denzel

Denzel + Huhn: Brom

Brom ist das nunmehr 4. Album von Denzel + Huhn, erschienen 2015 auf Oktaf/Kontakt. Es beinhaltet 14 Tracks mit verschiedenen Gastmusikern wie Ronald Lippok, Manuel Miethe, Florian Junker, Bettina Bruns, Sascha Friedl, Brad Hwang, Ralf Bokelberg, Sebastian Vogel, Thomas Kürstner und Naftali.

Aktuelles

Liquidrom

Das Hardly Listening Soundsystem spielt Unterwassermusik zum Relaxen und Floaten, ruhige Elektronika, Filmmusik, etwas nassen Jazz und trockenen Soul dazu. Die Termine, nunmehr Mittwochs: 6.…

Mehr lesen

Zu Tisch Vaucluse

Zur arte-Reihe „Zu Tisch“ über Melonenbauern in Vaucluse (Regie: Alix François Meier, Prod.: berlin producers) entstand die Musik. Ausstrahlung am 20.11.2021 um 19:40 auf arte.

Mehr lesen

50 Hertz

Für das Mitarbeitenden-Fest 2021 der 50 Hertz Transmission Gmbh entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit den Agenturen die wellenmaschine und marqueur mit von Mitarbeitenden eingesandten Geräuschen ihres…

Mehr lesen

Not a single day

Musik zum Dokumentarfilm von Kai-Uwe Schulte-Bunert über einen nord-italienischen Milchbauern. Das crowdfounding zur Postproduktion ist beendet und eingespielt wurde die Musik von Boram Lie (Cello),…

Mehr lesen