About me

As a freelance film composer since the mid-90's, I've produced diverse original scores for cinema, television and corporate videos. Starting with short films for the dffb and the HFF Konrad Wolf in Berlin, the first feature film, "Paul is dead" (2000) won numerous prizes, including the Grimme Prize. Seven other Grimme nominations followed over the years for TV features and the famous crime series "Tatort". With "Alaska Johansson" (2014) there was also a nomination for the Rolf-Hans-Müller Prize for Film Music.

From 1994 I was resident DJ in the Berlin Plantation Club, a predecessor of today's beach bars and a wild venue for cross-genre dance music. The first engagement as a wedding DJ was for friends of the bosses. In 1998 the club burns down, the weddings remain.

The hardly listening soundsystem has been playing underwater music on a regular basis in Berlin's Liquidrom since 2008 - well-groomed background music with an extensive repertoire is one of my favorite skills.

I've also played in different bands and numerous music projects, including This Big Herbert, Ornament & Verbrechen and Triplum. Denzel + huhn (est. 1999) has become my electronic home base after all these years.

bertram-denzel

Denzel + Huhn: Brom

Brom is now the 4th album by Denzel + Huhn, released in 2015 on Oktaf / Kontakt. It contains 14 tracks with various guest musicians such as Ronald Lippok, Manuel Miethe, Florian Junker, Bettina Bruns, Sascha Friedl, Brad Hwang, Ralf Bokelberg, Sebastian Vogel, Thomas Kürstner and Naftali.

News

Nightowls & Die Spieler (The Players)

I scored two new shorts by Samuel Auer (director at berlin filmschool dffb): “Die Spieler” and “Nightowls“. Nightowls is first shown at Queer Lisboa. “Die Spieler” (trailer) was…

read more

Größer als im Fernsehen

(“Appearingly bigger than on TV”, directed by Christoph Schnee), produced by Hessischer Rundfunk. “Größer als im Fernsehen” is a Co-production with arte. I´m honored to…

read more

Double Release

music to float by out now ! 80 minutes of chilling music to relax under water or dry at your living-room-sofa ! Check out ! Buy…

read more

Über mich

Seit Mitte der 90er Jahre komponiere und produziere ich Musik für Kino-, Fernseh- und Imagefilme. Angefangen mit Kurzfilmen für die dffb und die HFF Konrad Wolf, gewinnt gleich der erste Langfilm, "Paul is dead" (Regie: Hendrik Handloegten, X-Filme 2000), zahlreiche Preise, darunter den Grimme-Preis. 7 weitere Grimme-Nominierungen folgen im Laufe der Jahre für Fernsehfilme und einige Tatorte. Mit "Alaska Johansson" (2014) gibt es eine Nominierung für den Rolf-Hans-Müller Preis für Filmmusik.

Ab 1994 war ich Resident-DJ im Berliner Plantation-Club, einem Vorgänger heutiger Strandbars und wilde Spielstätte genreübergreifender Tanzmusik. Das erste Engagement als Hochzeits-DJ war für Bekannte der Betreiber. 1998 brennt der Club ab, die Hochzeiten bleiben. Verschiedenen Crowds einen unvergesslichen Tanzabend zu bescheren, treibt mich immer wieder aufs Neue an.

Seit 2008 legt das hardly listening soundsystem regelmäßig Unterwassermusik im Berliner Liquidrom auf – gepflegte Hintergrundbeschallung mit weitreichendem Repertoire ist eines meiner Steckenpferde, nicht nur unter Wasser.

Ich habe außerdem in verschiedenen Bands und zahlreichen Musikprojekten mitgewirkt, unter anderen bei This Big Herbert, Ornament & Verbrechen und Triplum. Nach unterschiedlichen Ausprägungen und Stilvarianten ist denzel + huhn (gegr. 1999) mein elektronisches Zuhause geworden.

bertram-denzel

Denzel + Huhn: Brom

Brom ist das nunmehr 4. Album von Denzel + Huhn, erschienen 2015 auf Oktaf/Kontakt. Es beinhaltet 14 Tracks mit verschiedenen Gastmusikern wie Ronald Lippok, Manuel Miethe, Florian Junker, Bettina Bruns, Sascha Friedl, Brad Hwang, Ralf Bokelberg, Sebastian Vogel, Thomas Kürstner und Naftali.

Aktuelles

Doppelveröffentlichung

music to float by ist weiterhin erhältich ! 80 Minuten Musik zur edlen Erholung, holen Sie sich den Trockenfloat aufs Sofa ! Für´s Auge gibt´s auch…

Mehr lesen